Join | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
News & Press: ACBSP News

Jamie Conrad and Dewayne Thompson Receive 2013 ACBSP International Teaching Excellence Award

Thursday, July 11, 2013   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Melinda Dorning

Jamie H. Conrad and Dewayne Thompson, Ph.D. Receive

2013 ACBSP International Teaching Excellence Award

OVERLAND PARK, KS, USA (July 11, 2013) The Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP),, proudly announces that Jamie H. Conrad, Gaston College (N.C.) and Dewayne Thompson, Lee University (Tenn.), have received the 2013 ACBSP International Teaching Excellence Award.


The announcement was made at a "Salute to Regions Luncheon” held June 23 during the ACBSP Annual Conference in Salt Lake City. As the 2013 Teaching Excellence Award recipients for their respective regions, Conrad and Thompson were honored with other regional recipients, each of whom received a medallion and a $100 check. From that group, two International Teaching Excellence Award recipients were announced, one from an associate degree-granting institution (Conrad) and one from a baccalaureate/graduate degree-granting institution (Thompson). Each was presented with an engraved plaque and a $500 check.


Both Conrad and Thompson are members of the Southeastern Council of Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP Region 3), a regional division of ACBSP representing colleges and universities in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee.


Jeremy Railton, Business Instructor and Business Administration Department Chair at Gaston College, who nominated Conrad for the award, writes: "I have never worked with someone so willing to take the lead on a new program or incorporate a new method into her instruction. I have had the opportunity to observe Mrs. Conrad in the classroom and found myself inspired to become a better instructor. She is able to establish excellent rapport with each student, while simultaneously demanding that they achieve at a level higher than they ever thought they could.”


In a letter recommending Thompson for the award, J. Matthew Melton, Dean of the College of Arts & Sciences at Lee University, writes: "Dewayne is above all a consummate classroom teacher. I have had the chance to observe him and to work with students who have taken him for classes. No one in a Thompson classroom has any doubt that they are getting high quality. His course evaluation numbers, which are among the best in the university, cannot accurately reflect the number of lives Dewayne has and continues to mentor personally…His impact continues past their time as students, and many alumni stay in touch with him for advice and counsel in their professional lives.”


ACBSP recognizes the significance of the classroom teacher to the mission of degree-granting institutions. It is for this reason that the Associate Degree Commission of ACBSP established the International Teaching Excellence Award in 1995 to recognize outstanding classroom teachers. In 2002, the Baccalaureate Degree Commission created a similar award to recognize excellence in teaching at the baccalaureate degree level. ACBSP is the only specialized accrediting body for business schools that presents an award recognizing excellence in teaching at all degree levels.

"It is more important than ever for business programs to produce graduates who are ready to enter the global marketplace,” said Douglas Viehland, ACBSP Executive Director. "ACBSP has a mission to develop, promote and recognize best practices that contribute to continuous improvement of business education. Recognition of teaching excellence is one way we achieve this goal,” he stated.



ACBSP’s mission is to promote continuous improvement and recognize excellence in the accreditation of business education programs around the world. ACBSP is recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA) as a specialized accreditation agency for business education. ACBSP currently has 1,171 member campuses, 183 of which are located outside of the U.S. Of those campuses, 603 have achieved accreditation and more than 200 are in candidacy for accreditation. Individual members on these campuses now exceed 9,900.



  • The Alliance for Performance Excellence
  • Bloomberg Businessweek
  • Campus Labs
  • Capsim
  • CarringtonCrisp
  • Cengage Learning
  • CHEA International Quality Group
  • Chinese Management Association
  • Eduvantis
  • ETS
  • Enactus
  • Global Academy of Financial Management International Board of Standards
  • Institute of Management Accountants
  • Interpretive Simulations
  • Keystone Academic Solutions
  • Latin American Council of Management Schools
  • Midstates Group
  • Peregrine Academic Services
  • PlanningShop
  • Project Management Institute
  • Skyfactor
  • PRME - Principles for Responsible Management Education
  • Worldstrides