Join | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
Kappa Beta Delta - Andrew V. Stevenson Scholarship
Kappa Beta Delta Key

Andrew V. Stevenson served as the Associate Director of Accreditation of ACBSP and worked closely with associate degree schools until his death. He was instrumental in creating Kappa Beta Delta, an honor society for associate degree business programs which have ACBSP accreditation.

The number of scholarships to be awarded may change year-to-year. Availability and award amounts for 2017 are as follows:

  • 12 scholarships in the amount of $1,000 each, open to all Kappa Beta Delta members worldwide.
  • 1 scholarship in the amount of $1,000, open to Kappa Beta Delta members who attend schools in ACBSP Region 2
  • 1 scholarship in the amount of $1,000, open to Kappa Beta Delta members who attend schools in ACBSP Region 4
  • 1 scholarship in the amount of $500, open to Kappa Beta Delta members who attend schools in ACBSP Region 5
  • 1 scholarship in the amount of $1000, open to Kappa Beta Delta members who attend schools in ACBSP Region 6
  • 1 scholarship in the amount of $500, open to Kappa Beta Delta members who attend schools in ACBSP Region 7

ACBSP Regions Merit Scholarship

Beginning in 2014, some of the ACBSP Regions began sponsoring Kappa Beta Delta scholarships. Each participating ACBSP Region designates and funds the amount of the scholarship. A student from that Region who did not receive the Andrew V. Stevenson Scholarship is then chosen. The eligibility and selection criteria is the same as the Andrew V. Stevenson Scholarship.

Any other region wanting to donate additional funds can do so through March 1, 2016. Contact to do so.

Visit the ACBSP Regions map to determine a school's membership region.

Scholarship recipients are invited to attend ACBSP Conference 2016 which will be in Anaheim, California on June 24-27, 2017. The students will be given recognition at the meeting of the Associate Degree Members.

Some requirements for the scholarship have changed from previous years. Read through the instructions to ensure all requirements for entry are satisfied.

Scholarship Requirements and Deadline for Submission

We anticipate the competition to be challenging. Each student must meet the following criteria to be considered:

  • Be an inducted member prior to the March 1, 2017 deadline
  • Must have a 3.0 out of 4.0 GPA or higher
  • Must be currently enrolled in college classes (must have a valid class schedule as verification)

In addition to the attached application, the applicant should submit:

  • An official transcript (sealed envelope)
  • An autobiographical essay indicating academic and professional achievements and community service(s). 750-1,000 words.
  • A list of student's personal goals
  • A letter of recommendation from student's chapter advisor or faculty member
  • Completed and signed Photo Release Form

Students previously awarded a scholarship are not eligible to re-apply. Recipients will only be awarded one scholarship. The 12 scholarships open to all eligible members will be awarded first. Region-designated scholarships may then be awarded to top candidates in the remaining applicant pool.

Application and additional information

The deadline for application submission is March 1, 2017
All applications must be postmarked by the deadline and mailed to the address below:

Kappa Beta Delta International Honor Society
11520 West 119th Street
Overland Park, Kansas 66213
Attn: Andrew V. Stevenson Scholarship Committee

Past Scholarship Recipients

  • 2016 - Andrew V. Stevenson Scholarship
    • Christina Carter – Ivy Tech Community College of Indiana (Northwest)
    • Jamie Cassidy – Owensboro Community & Technical College
    • Francisca Franklin – Northwest State Community College
    • Elizabeth Greenwood – Sinclair Community College
    • Victor Hernandez – Northern Oklahoma College
    • Alexis Hill – Northern Oklahoma College
    • Kyle Holt – Oklahoma City Community College
    • Nathaniel Laushman – Southeast Community College
    • Whitney Stanfield – Ivy Tech Community College of Indiana (Wabash Valley)
    • Donway Sy – Skyline College
    • Melissa Walther – Sinclair Community College
    • Jordan Watkins – Lawson State Community College
  • 2016 - ACBSP Regions Merit Scholarship
    • Nancy Chavez - ACBSP Region 5 – Pratt Community College
    • Breanna Garcia - ACBSP Region 6 – NMSU Dona Ana Community College

    • 2015 - Andrew V. Stevenson Scholarship
      • Crissy Carpenter - Ivy Tech Community College of Indiana
      • Edgar Delgadillo - Northern Oklahoma College
      • Brandon Tyler Hayes - Walters State Community College
      • James Paul Houston - Lawson State Community College
      • Brenda D. Jarvis - Sinclair Community College
      • Roy Durante Johns III - Lawson State Community College
      • Angelina Romo - NMSU Dona Ana Community College
      • Kevin Rockwell - Sinclair Community College
      • Boris Shkurko - Skyline College
      • Monina Ubungen - Skyline College
      • Barbara Ann Vaughan - Sinclair Community College
    • 2015 - ACBSP Regions Merit Scholarship
      • Sandra Charles - ACBSP Region 6 - South Texas College
      • Jonathan David Grimes - ACBSP Region 4 - Ivy Tech Community College of Indiana
      • Jia Chuan Lu - ACBSP Region 7 - Skyline College
      • Deborah K. TenEyck - ACBSP Region 5 - Metropolitan Community College
  • Bloomberg Businessweek
  • Campus Labs
  • Capsim
  • Cengage Learning
  • Delta Mu Delta
  • Edevate
  • ETS
  • Enactus
  • Global Academy of Financial Management International Board of Standards
  • Institute of Management Accountants
  • Interpretive Simulations
  • Kappa Beta Delta
  • Keystone Academic Solutions
  • Latin American Council of Management Schools
  • LiveText
  • Peregrine Academic Services
  • PlanningShop
  • Project Management Institute
  • Rise Display
  • Sigma Beta Delta
  • The College Board
  • Worldstrides